liquid lipstick swatches & comparisons!

Who else loves liquid lipsticks?
Its been my obsession lately and with the recent addition of Melted Velvet and Berry to my collection, I wanted to do a quick comparison between some of my red liquid lipsticks! Its super snowy here right now, so the “sunlight” photo still looks a little dim, but I’m promise all five of these lipsticks are very pigmented!

liquid-lip1. Sephora Cream Lip Stain – Strawberry Kissed
2. Stila Stay All Day – Fiery
3. Too Faced Melted – Velvet
4. Too Faced Melted – Berry
5. NYX Matte Lip Cream – Copenhagen

More thoughts after the cut!

I think my favorite of the bunch has got to be the Melteds. They are definitely the most comfortable of the bunch and stay a bit more “liquidy” on the lips all day. They do last a super long time, but I wouldn’t consider them transfer proof. Part of what makes them comfortable is the fact that they don’t dry into that flat-paint look and don’t crack when they are dry.
The NYX matte creams always tend to crack on me after a couple of hours although I do like how soft and creamy they apply.
Sephora’s lip creams are also so wonderfully smooth and soft. If they had more colors that I like, they might be my favorite! I’m hopeful for some of their new spring colors (Cherry Blossom and the Mauve especially) but I have yet to swatch them in store. I actually went to the biggest Sephora in my downtown area and they had NONE of the lip creams on display, which was super weird!
The Stila is also really nice. This one is totally transfer proof and only removable with oil cleansers!

Also! Pro tip; the oil-in-gel lipstick remover from Sephora is my new HG for removing liquid lipsticks! It’s crazy how efficient it is!

In terms of color, the Strawberry Kissed is the brightest and leans a little orange-red.
Fiery is a very pigmented bright neutral red on me.
Velvet is a darker, more blueish red. More muted than the other reds.
Berry is a plum leaning red; less purple than I thought it would be but I love it!
Copenhagen of course is a very plum purple-red. Definitely the darkest and purple-est of the bunch.

Have you tried any of these? Do you have any favorite liquid lipsticks that I haven’t mentioned? I would love to hear your response in the comments!

til later, lovelies!
xoxo Swatchlette

One thought on “liquid lipstick swatches & comparisons!

gotta comment?