Happy 2017 & Makeup Resolutions

Happy omg-it’s-already-a-week-into-January ! I cannot believe how fast time has flown. Part of me wishes I had accomplished a lot more of my to-do list in 2016, but unfortunately I don’t have a time machine to go back and change things. I don’t like making hard-setΒ new year resolutions, but for 2017 I’m really aiming to just get more done! Time always slips by faster than you’d like.

In makeup news, I have some interesting (and hopefully fun!) plans for 2017. In an effort to really appreciate my large and beautiful stash, I’ll be participating in a bunch of different makeup challenges. I invite you to join me in them πŸ™‚

  • 100 Days of Lipstick
    • I definitely have more than 100 different lipsticks, especially if we are counting liquid, bullet, gloss, lip liners, and tinted balms. I don’t want to do a “365 Days” challenge because that sounds terrifying, so 100 it is! I am going to be trying to wear a different one every day and take a photo of it and write a quick review. I want to get back into the habit of wearing all my pretty colors rather than repeating a few favorites. This will also help me rediscover favorites and cull things I dislike.
  • Reverse Rouge
    • This is a challenge set up by reddit MakeupRehab inspired by Elle’s idea. The idea is to actually USE UP your makeup purchases instead of just buying more. So instead of aiming to hit Rouge at Sephora (or VIB or Platinum at Ulta) you are trying to use your stash and hit the ‘reverse Rouge’ amount. So instead of $1000 spent, you will have $1000 in empties. For me this is a helpful way to remember to use my nicer more expensive things and not to “save” them for a “special” day. Every day should be special πŸ™‚
  • Color Challenge / Eyeshadow Roulette
    • I’ve fallen into a funk of one-shadow looks and barely-there neutrals. I was so rushed for time before work in November and December that I fell out of habit of doing any complicated makeup looks. I have such an awesome stash of rainbow eyeshadows and I really want to make an effort to do fun colorful looks! I think I’ll start on the weekends with experiments and then once I can do things a bit faster, I’ll incorporate them into daily wear. To help me pick colors, I may be using a spreadsheet and a numerical system to pick. It’ll take me a while to enter all my eyeshadows into a number list, but I think it’ll be really fun to let a randomizer picks colors for me and see what craziness ensues.

Those are just a few of my 2017 challenges so far. Have you found any good & fun challenges you’re participating in? Feel free to leave a comment below! I’d love to hear what your 2017 makeup plans are!

xoxo
Swatchlette

2 thoughts on “Happy 2017 & Makeup Resolutions

  1. stashy says:

    Fun challenges! I can’t imagine having more than 100 lipsticks – I just worry they’ll go bad all at once!
    The reverse Rouge sounds super interesting. I haven’t valued what my empties cost… hrmm, I might have done a Reverse Rouge last year without knowing!
    PS. I posted my full year’s empties summary here with some stats:
    https://stashmatters.com/2017/01/06/trash-stash-2016-summary/

    I’ll likely do another round of Project Pan in the Spring – see what I can use up that I’ve been neglecting. I’ve also posted my low-buy-no-buy hybrid shopping plan:
    https://stashmatters.com/2017/01/02/new-2017-focus-no-buy-low-buy-hybrid/
    Good luck with your challenges!

    Liked by 1 person

    • swatchlette says:

      I should probably edit my post… I estimated without counting but when I went back to count, I actually only have close to 100, not over πŸ™‚ Most of them are bullet, otherwise I would be worried about the liquids going off. I’ll have to say though, I’ve never had a lipstick go bad and a few of them are over 3 years old. I’m meticulous about keeping them away from heat & water though…

      Project Pan is a great plan too! I’m hoping some of my empties will be makeup this year, so hoping some pan will happen πŸ™‚

      Like

gotta comment?

