(Belated) March Empties!!

Hello all! I have my March empties post for you today ❤

As April kept flying by, I considered postponing my March empties and combining them with my April, but since it’s looking likely I’ll be moving to a new place early May (!!!!!) I might not have time for an April empties at the end of the month.

So here we are! All my March (and a couple early April) empties!

small-april-emtpies

  1. Supergoop CC Cream Light to Medium (sample) – decent formula, non-greasy, but waaay too orange/dark for me. Would Not Repurchase
  2. Murad Transforming Powder Dual-Action Cleanser and Exfoliator (sample) – this was a really cool product! It was a grainy powder but when you add a little water, it turns into a face scrub! I tend to like chemical scrubs more than physical, but this was an interesting thing to try. Not sure if it really helped my skin, but it didn’t hurt it.  Would Not Repurchase
  3. DDF Ultra Lite Oil Free Moisturizing Dew (sample) – normally I wouldn’t include my foil samples in my empties but I loved this sample and really wanted a record of it in my empties post so I can find it again! Crazy hydrating, non-greasy finish, and NO FRAGRANCE. Bless the skincare gods.  Would Repurchase
  4. Clinique Take the Day Off Cleansing Balm – The solid version of my trusty Clinique cleanser. I think I still prefer the pump bottle liquid version because I hate things in jars; they’re just not the easiest to work with or keep clean. This was some awesome stuff though- it totally gets rid of 90% of my makeup.  Would Not Repurchase
  5. PaintBox SoapWorks Lavender Truffle Sorbetto Emulsifying Sugar Scrub – okay so first off this smells AMAZING. Lavender chocolate vanilla. YUM please bathe me in this smell always. Secondly, this is such a cool scrub- it’s a solid kind of thick paste but when its hits the water on your skin (I use it in the shower) it turns into scrubby soap. Surprised that the label wasn’t totally waterproof, considering where it’s supposed to be used, but maybe that’s just the sample size?  Have Already Repurchased
  6. Paula’s Choice Skin Perfecting 2% BHA Liquid (sample size) – the sample sizes last a really long time and are easier to travel with, so A+ in my book. Not sure if this helped my skin significantly. I switched to the Clear line one as a replacement bottle. We’ll see if there is any difference!  Would Not Repurchase For Now
  7. Clinique Acne Solutions Emergency Gel Lotion – Adult acne is like the worst freakin’ thing ever. Like PLEASE, I was a teenager eons ago, just give me nice skin now! This stuff is the least drying version of benzoyl peroxide I’ve ever tried. It works and it doesn’t hurt.  Always Repurchase
  8. Strivectin-AR Retinol Eye Treatment – the birchbox sample that just wouldn’t die. There’s a surprising amount in this tiny tube! Honestly, I didn’t see much improvement on my eyes at all, and if anything, it dried out my skin a little.  Would Not Repurchase
  9. NARS Concealer in Vanilla – GUYS, THIS IS AMAZING. I finished a concealer!!! It only took two years, but I’m so proud of myself. This concealer was an okay color match (a little too yellow) and okay product. It accentuated any dryness in my skin, so it definitely wasn’t the best formula for me. It worked best, ironically, on top of heavy silicone bases like Miracle Skin Transformer, but needed to be set with a lot of powder and setting spray since it just sort of sat on top of the silicone-y base. Directly applied to my skin just made it look drier. I’m interested in trying the liquid version, but I have three liquid concealers I’m working on right now (Lorac, Hard Candy, and Sephora) so maybe once I finish those.  Would Not Repurchase
  10. TheBalm Put a Lid on It Eyelid Primer – A silicone-y primer that worked really well with shimmer and matte eyeshadows. It’s not sticky so it doesn’t work well with really glittery shades. This is not empty, but there’s these hairline fractures around the nozzle of the tube and everytime I squeeze it, it squirts out of the fractures rather than the actual top so goodbye it goes! I still have two glitter primers and UDPP Enigma so I don’t need this right now.  Would Not Repurchase
  11. Garden of Wisdom Camellia Seed Oil – In my desperation to find skincare that works, I also ordered samples from some lesser known indie brands including Garden of Wisdom. I personally find their website hard to navigate and use, but the products are recommended online. This oil was fine for winter, but it didn’t replace my moisturizer. I actually just mixed the both because I didn’t like the oily finish pure oil gives my skin. Also, surprising since it’s so small, but it started to smell stale and/or “off” after a couple months. I used the rest on my body because it smelled so strong if I put it on my face. Not sure I could ever use up a bigger size before it goes weird!  Would Not Repurchase
  12. Algenist Sublime Defense spf 50 Blurring Moisturizer – Oh man I really love this. It was a Sephora sample (or point perk? I can’t remember) from LAST summer. I forgot about it over winter and with warmer weather I used it again. It’s a silicone rich, soft & matte finish ‘moisturizer’. I say that with quotes because it’s not a typical moisturizer and may not be rich enough for super dry skin. It’s great in summer though, and oily skin types may love it for the matte finish. Strongly perfumed (at least to my nose) though.  Would Not Repurchase
  13. Yes To Coconuts Lip Balm – best natural thing you can buy at the drugstore in my opinion. I like my lip balms to be super emollient and moisturizing, and also not contain any weird stuff or flavors. Love this stuff and I’ve already opened and started to use another tube.  Would Repurchase
  14. CocoaPink Shine+ Conditioner in Last Train of Gettysburg  – okay 1) weird smell especially for a conditioner. It was a free sample so I can’t complain too much, but it’s musty and weird on my hair. 2) most annoying non-waterproof label ever. I pray that it’s just the sample size because this thing refused to stay on. 3) Despite being ‘protein and silicone free’ it really weighed down my hair. Ehhh not for me.  Would Not Repurchase
  15. Buxom Lipstick in Centerfold (mini) – If you’ve been following my MLBB lipstick posts you know I love this. It’s not totally gone but I have a few dupes and this tiny mushed up lipstick is too annoying to keep using. I love you & goodbye.  Would Not Repurchase
  16. Stila Stay All Day 10-in-1 HD Illuminating Beauty Balm – unnecessarily long name, haha, but a good product. Sticky enough to really stay all day, but light enough to be a BB cream and not feel thick. Too yellow for me, but really nice for what it is.  Would Not Repurchase
  17. Maybelline Color Tattoo Metal in Gold Rush – Uhh no idea why I bought this other than “shiny!!!”. It’s a great gold color but I rarely use it. I’ve learned in 2015 that me and jars = no-no’s. I just hate applying with my finger. Also this is an odd crumbly formula rather than super smooth.  Would Not Repurchase
  18. Mary Kay Sparkling Honeysuckle mini roller fragrance – This is crazy old, I can’t even remember when I got it. I never really liked the smell and it only got weird over the (five??) years I’ve owned it. It was a gift so I don’t feel bad saying goodbye.  Would Not Repurchase
  19. ELF Matte Lipstick in Rich Red – The crayon shape is really convenient and the color is nice, but honestly I have sooo many red lipsticks and this one isn’t even on my radar anymore. Destashed!  Would Not Repurchase
  20. Rimmel Scandaleyes Kohl Eyeliner in 013 Purple – Surprisingly not that purple! Just looks muddy on my eyes and I prefer my colored eyeliners to actually be COLORFUL.  Would Not Repurchase

TWENTY ITEMS. If you’ve read this far I’m proud of you.

What was your March like? Did you discover products you hate and destashed, or rediscovered a new favorite? Let’s talk in the comments 🙂

til later,
xoxo Swatchette

 

One thought on “(Belated) March Empties!!

  1. stashmatters says:

    Congrats on finishing a concealer – that’s no small feat! 🙂 I just bought the Nars Creamy version – can’t wait to bust that open! Have heard so many raves for it.
    I really like the Paula’s Choice 2% BHA liquid – it helps to zap blemishes when I can feel my skin acting up!
    Great job on all the empties! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

gotta comment?

