Kat Von D Lightning Liner & Ink Liner

Hello all! Today I have a swatch post (and sort of comparison) of two of the Kat Von D liners on the market. I actually also have the Tattoo liner in Trooper, but since that is a basic black (and my oft-talked about HG) I thought you’d like to see two of my more fun colors! All my KVD is purchased at Sephora.

IMG_5586

Kat Von D eyeliners

Today I have for you my two recent-ish purchases of Ink Liner in Baudelaire and Lightning Liner in Juno.

IMG_5588

Kat Von D – Lightning Liner in Juno // Ink Liner in Baudelaire

As always with KVD products, she has interesting names and cool packaging. Although I’m a boring neutral makeup lover on the outside, my inner tattoo-rocking-pin-up-girl loves all her stuff.

I am actually immensely satisfied with the Lightning Liner and I don’t understand all the negative reviews.

IMG_5589

Kat Von D Lightning Liner in Juno

I guess it’s not 100% the most “user friendly” since you do need to know how to get it started. But I found the included instructions helpful and not difficult. I am going to copy-paste my review from Sephora’s website.

yes, there is a learning curve but the directions are easy to follow. It’s literally 3 steps. 1) Pull out ring 2) Shove cap into body HARD 3) Twist.
Pro tip: twist SLOWLY and upside down. It’s like the old school lip glosses; you gotta be patient! Don’t twist more than 2-3 times. It flows out really easily!

And those steps still work! It’s basically like any twist up lip gloss; don’t go crazy twisting it each time and actually wait for it to flow out before deciding if you need another twist. It’s been about two months since I bought Juno and it still works perfectly fine. I do one twist while holding the pen downwards (to encourage flow) and that’s usually plenty enough to do one winged eye and half of another. I do a second twist to finish the second eye and touch up either if I feel like it.

Maybe it’s because I’m used to paint brushes (I do a lot of painting both for work and for hobby) but I didn’t find the Lightning Liner any harder to use that my 24/7 Urban Decay liners or the other KVD liners.

love Juno too; it’s a rich metallic green, more mossy than a bright emerald. It’s both fun and neutral at the same time.

IMG_5590

Kat Von D Ink Liner in Baudelaire

Baudelaire is a classic navy liner; no glitter but also not 100% flat matte. It has a sort of ‘natural matte’ finish that I personally find more flattering than a stiff paint kind of flat matte.

This one is a felt tip rather than Lightning Liner’s brush tip and some people may find that easier to use. No complaints about this one at all!

IMG_5592

Kat Von D Ink Liner in Baudelaire // Lightning Liner in Juno

I did a series of swatches, kind of doodling on my arm. A light touch, a heavy stroke, and a wiggle-waggle thing. I left these swatches on my arm rather than wiping them off, and they lasted a really long time. These are right on my wrist and brushing up against my sleeves / laptop/ table surfaces. They also lasted through a workout and a shower! On my eyes they perform the same; no budge and no smear.


I don’t think KVD’s other liners get enough love. The Tattoo Liner is arguably the best, but if you’re looking for more fun colors, the Lightning and Ink Liners are good choices too! When in doubt, go to a brick-and-mortar Sephora store and play around with the testers. That’s the best way to figure out if you find them user friendly or the right color.

Do you have any KVD eyeliners? What was your experience with them?

til later lovelies,
xoxo Swatchlette

 

gotta comment?

