Indie Spotlight ~ Hello Waffle Cosmetics! ~ Huge Swatch Post of Eyeshadows, Highlighter, Blush, Lipstick

Hello everyone! I have an awesome post for you guys today, and I mean awesome as in “ohmygod look at how many swatches there are”. I have swatched my ENTIRE Hello Waffle collection! Every single eyeshadow, blush, highlighter, and lip thing that I own from them. Granted, I don’t have the entire brand (yet) but wowza did I go crazy during her last sale πŸ™‚
If you didn’t know, Hello Waffle is a Canadian indie brand (named after her cat, Waffle!) that does eyeshadows, blushes, lip balms, cheek products, etc. They pretty much do every type of cosmetic. And they have cute themes, including a punny one called Catssic Literature (books + cats!). I’ve been wanting to highlight this brand for a while and now is a good time so you can narrow down your wishlist before their Black Friday sale!

Hello Waffle shadows galore!

So Hello Waffle had a big birthday sale a few months agoΒ and I’ve been meaning to swatch these for so long! Some of them were still sealed because I wanted to wait and swatch them, oops.

I bought a lot during the sale, as this was my first time with HW and I wanted to try all their best products. Of course they also had a new line called “Blushed” out that was lots of rose golds, and those are my kryptonite!

Hello Waffle eyeshadows, lipstick, highlighter, blush, pressed shadows....

Hello Waffle eyeshadows, lipstick, highlighter, blush, pressed shadows….

I bought a lot, evidently (hahaha)

IMG_4569

Hello Waffle eyeshadows: Debussy, JK Meowling, Mendelssohn, Ethereal Voice, Silk, Fey

Debussy and Mendelssohn are from the Musicians collection. JK Meowling is from the Catssic Literature. The other three are from the Persinette (aka Rapunzel) collection.

IMG_4570

Hello Waffle eyeshadows: Ivory Roses, Royal Icing, Centerpiece, Fanciful, Candlelight

Ivory Roses, Royal Icing, Centerpiece, Fanciful, and Candlelight are all from the Blushed collection that is now completely out of stock (to my knowledge).

IMG_4572

Hello Waffle pressed eyeshadows: Candlelight, Sequins, Cushion Cut

There was also the option of getting the shadows as pressed versions! I thought this was awesome since I’m still a little afraid to press my own. I got Candlelight, Sequins, and Cushion Cut pressed.

Hello Waffle eyeshadows:

Hello Waffle cosmetics: The Cat’s Meow, Lumps, Fey (older version), and Likes Matte(r) blush, Awoke at Dawn highlighter

These are some random odds and ends. The Cat’s Meow, Lumps, Fey, and Likes Matte(r) are all received in swaps. I grabbed Fey from a cheap swap while I was waiting for my HW order to come in, since I only grabbed a sample baggie in my order. Of course I was ASTONISHED to see that HW had automatically upgraded my sample to a full size as a freebie! Amazing customer service. Awoke at Dawn is a highlighter from their subscription box that I was glad to grab an extra of during the sale.

Hello Waffle eyeshadows:

Hello Waffle cosmetics: sample baggies & lip products : The Great Catsby, Purr-ide and Purr-edjudice, Catticus Finch, 23, Of the Wildland, Bringer of Storms, The Unseen, Wafflebalm, Romeow and Mewliet

So these are all samples I bought because I was already spending some serious $$$ (haha) and didn’t want to buy full sizes of literally everything without trying some samples first. Granted I ended up falling in love with a lot of these!Β The Great Catsby, Purr-ide and Purr-edjudice, Catticus Finch are all from Catssic Literature (I swear I had Picture of Purr-ian Grey as well but I can’t find it now, eeeek).Β Of the Wildland, Bringer of Storms, The Unseen are all from her Mythology series. Wafflebalm is a waffle scented lip balm (no color) and Romeow and Mewliet is a lipstick.

There’s so many beautiful colors on HW’s website this was seriously only half of what I wish I had hauled! Now onto more photos πŸ™‚

IMG_4575

Hello Waffle eyeshadows: Debussy, JK Meowling, Mendelssohn

IMG_4576

Hello Waffle eyeshadows: Ethereal Voice, Silk, Fey, 23

Hello Waffle: Lumps, The Cat's Meow, Awoke at Dawn, Likes Matte(r)

Hello Waffle: Lumps, The Cat’s Meow, Awoke at Dawn, Likes Matte(r)

The first grouping is Debussy, JK Meowling, Mendelssohn, Ethereal Voice, Silk, Fey, Lumps, The Cat’s Meow, Awoke at Dawn, and Likes Matte(r).Β I also added 23 into this bunch because I’ve heard that it is similar to Fey.

Hello Waffle eyeshadows: Fey (new) versus Fey (old)

Hello Waffle eyeshadows: Fey (new) versus Fey (old)

Also oddly enough, the Fey that I received in swap (the one without the collection label art) is a different color that the one I bought. So weird! It might be an older formula but I have no idea.

Anyhoooo, onto swatches. These are all finger swatches over Too Faced primer. But the primer hated my arm (ugh) so some of the swatches look clumpy but I promise that is not the eyeshadows fault at all.

IMG_4594

Hello Waffle eyeshadows in indirect light: (from L to R) The Cat’s Meow // Lumps // Ethereal Voice // Silk // Fey (old) // Fey (new) //Β 23 //Β Mendelssohn // Debussy // JK Meowling

They all looked super shinyΒ in indirect sun light, I couldn’t resist taking a photo.

IMG_4583

Hello Waffle eyeshadows: (from L to R): Fey (old) // Fey (new) // 23 // Mendelssohn // Debussy // JK Meowling

Debussy is a super glowy color! It’s a pale green gold, but it really does look like it glows from within. JK Meowling IΒ had to get because of the cover art! I couldn’t resist a little cat dressed as Harry Potter.

IMG_4585

Hello Waffle eyeshadows: (from L to R) The Cat’s Meow // Lumps // Ethereal Voice // Silk // Fey (old) // Fey (new) // 23

There’s a big difference (at least to my eye) between both version of Fey. The received in swap one is yellower/peachier glow. The new one I bought has an almost pink-peach-gold shift. It looks a lot more complex.

IMG_4588

Hello Waffle: (from L to R) Awoke at Dawn // The Cat’s Meow // Lumps // Ethereal Voice // Silk // Fey (old) // Fey (new)

Lumps is a really lovely pink-gold. It has a sheen to it that is almost like a holographic blue shift. It’s hard to describe but it is truly lit from within.Β I think these photos really tell you what type of colors I like, haha (gimme all the rose goldssss).

IMG_4591

Hello Waffle Awoke at Dawn highlighter, Likes Matte(r) blush

Awoke at Dawn is a SUPER gorgeous rose gold highlighter. It’s really fine shimmer and it’s beautiful and glimmery all blended out. Likes Matte(r) is a cool lavender-fuchsia-ish matte blush. It’s an interesting color and I like that it’s more cool toned than other blushes I own.

END OF ROUND ONE!


Okay next grouping! This one includes the Blushed collection.

IMG_4597

Hello Waffle eyeshadows: Fanciful // Ivory Roses // Royal Icing //Β Centerpiece

IMG_4595

Hello Waffle eyeshadows: Cushion Cut // Sequins // Candlelight

IMG_4596

Hello Waffle eyeshadows: Candlelight

I bought both the pressed and loose version of Candlelight. I fell in love with the swatch color on the website and was worried that they’d be different between the formats so I bought both. And I was right! It’s slightly different…

IMG_4598

Hello Waffle eyeshadows: The Great Catsby // Purr-ide and Purr-edjudice // Catticus Finch // Of the Wildland // Bringer of Storms // The Unseen

So this grouping includes the Blushed collection, all the samples, and the lipstick in Romeow and Mewliet.

IMG_4602

Hello Waffle eyeshadows: (from L to R) Centerpiece // Fanciful // Cushion Cut // Sequins // Candlelight (loose) // Candlelight (pressed)

So the pressed version of Candlelight is more pigmented on one swipe. I think this may be because of the binders a pressed shadow has, acting as an almost primer already in the shadow. Sequins and Cushion Cut are not quite as nice, which I think may be because they are more satin-shimmers and the more matte base didn’t press as smoothly as the ultra glimmery Candlelight. I need to play around with the pressed version some more.

IMG_4605

Hello Waffle eyeshadows: (from L to R) Great Catsby // Royal Icing // Ivory Roses // Centerpiece // Fanciful // Cushion Cut

Ivory Roses is a beautiful matte shade. Any glimmer you see in the swatch is from the mega glittery Centerpiece.

IMG_4607

Hello Waffle eyeshadows: (from botmm to top) Purr-ide and Purr-edjudice // Great Catsby // Royal Icing // Ivory Roses

The Great Catsby is a sparkling ocean blue with green glitter, much like the green light from the book. It’s really lovely. As is Royal Icing! These two didn’t want to photograph well but they’re beautifully shimmery in real life.

Hello Waffle eyeshadows: (from L to R) Centerpiece // Fanciful // Cushion Cut // Sequins // Candlelight (loose) // Candlelight (pressed)

Hello Waffle: (from L to R) Rowmeou and Mewliet // The Unseen // Bringer of Storms // Of the Wildland // Catticus Finch // Purr-ide and Purr-edjudice

BRINGER OF STORMS!!!! Oh gosh it’s so plush and easy to apply and absolutely gorgeous. It’s like a million layers of color in one. I love it. I need to find a way to wear dark shadows and look good in them, because daaaaaang this one is stunning.

Hello Waffle eyeshadows (with FLASH): (from L to R) Great Catsby // Royal Icing // Ivory Roses // Centerpiece // Fanciful // Cushion Cut

Hello Waffle eyeshadows (with FLASH): (from bottom to top) Rowmeow and Mewliet // The Unseen // Bringer of Storms // Of the Wildland

I honestly cannot say enough about Bringer of Storms. It’s so gorgeously shimmery. The Unseen is a surprise favorite too! It’s a nice brown neutral with a super sparkly twist. I can’t say it enough, but the formula on these shadows are amazing.


Overall, Hello Waffle is an extremely impressive company. Their shadows are all silky smooth and finely milled. When I touch them it’s so soft, it’s like the finest powder. This makes them easy to apply and blend. There are no clumps or rough glitters in any of these!

Favorites include: Debussy, Fey, Lumps, Silk, Bringer of Storms, Fanciful, Ivory Roses, and Awoke at Dawn.

Unfortunately the Blushed collection is out of stock right now, although she may bring some back for Black Friday (there are rumors). Also the Persinette collection is season and currently unavailable. But there is no wrong choice with Hello Waffle! Every product is outstanding.

Have I caught your eye with these pretty shades? Let me know in the comments which HW products look absolutely drool worthy to you πŸ™‚

til later lovelies,
xoxo Swatchlette

3 thoughts on “Indie Spotlight ~ Hello Waffle Cosmetics! ~ Huge Swatch Post of Eyeshadows, Highlighter, Blush, Lipstick

gotta comment?

