Notoriously Morbid Vanishing Cabinet October 2015 (Harry Potter Ghosts!) ~ Swatches & Review

(Note: this was totally supposed to be published yesterday but apparently my queue decided to be difficult :P)

Happy Tuesday  Wednesday! Today I have swatches of Notoriously Morbid’s October Vanishing Cabinet subscription box, with the Harry Potter ghosts theme! It was actually a VC overstock box, and since I don’t have a subscription I’m really happy I snagged one! I’m a total sucker for anything Harry Potter and I’ve always wanted to try NM’s subscription!

Notoriously Morbid : Happy Deathday Vanishing Cabinet

Notoriously Morbid : October 2015 : Happy Deathday Vanishing Cabinet

So the theme was “Happy Deathday” aka the ghosts throwing a party at Hogwarts!

IMG_4122

Notoriously Morbid : October 2015 : Happy Deathday Vanishing Cabinet

There were 4 eyeshadows (minis I think) and one lip product in this cabinet. I paid only $12.90 (including shipping), which I think is pretty good value for this. The info card included also teases that “you WILL see more of Mr. Potter’s world at some point” from Notoriously Morbid. That’s great news! I do like their eyeshadow formula and I think sometimes they go more out of the box than other companies in terms of color variations. We shall see….

IMG_4123

Notoriously Morbid : October 2015 : Happy Deathday Vanishing Cabinet

The four eyeshadows were named after the four ghosts of the Hogwarts houses, and the ‘moisturizing lip oil’ was named after Peeves.

  1. Fat Friar : light greenish yellow shimmer
  2. The Grey Lady : rich deep blue with tons of blue sparkles
  3. Bloody Baron : dusty olive green with red shift / sparkle
  4. Nearly Headless Nick : (my favorite of the bunch) a muted red-brown base, but over primer an awesome gold metallic shift comes out
  5. Peeves : glowing green shimmer suspended in oil base
Notoriously Morbid : Nearly Headless Nick

Notoriously Morbid : Nearly Headless Nick

Nick was the one that looked the most unassuming in the container, but ended up being the coolest color.

Notoriously Morbid : Bloody Baron

Notoriously Morbid : Bloody Baron

Notoriously Morbid : The Grey Lady

Notoriously Morbid : The Grey Lady

Notoriously Morbid : Fat Friar

Notoriously Morbid : Fat Friar

An interesting combination of colors! I’m not sure if these really work as a collection in terms of using all four on your eyes at once, but each one is clearly inspired by their named character and the house the ghost comes from (aka Nick is basically Gryffindor colors).

Notoriously Morbid : Peeves lip oil

Notoriously Morbid : Peeves lip oil

So Peeves looks weird, but NM said themselves it’s supposed to be like an unmixed lava lamp rather than a perfectly smooth mix of oil and sparkle. Ehh, kinda weird but I do have to admit this stuff tastes magical! It really does taste like Butterbeer. And I think it’s pretty moisturizing for being basically coconut oil, glycerin, and flavoring. It’s like a liquid lip balm almost, or a lip serum. I didn’t find that the green showed on my lips which was a good thing in my opinion.

Swatch time!

Notoriously Morbid : October 2015 : Happy Death Day Vanishing Cabinet : Eyeshadow Swatches

Notoriously Morbid : October 2015 : Happy Death Day Vanishing Cabinet : Eyeshadow Swatches

In order from L to R: Fat Friar, Grey Lady, Bloody Baron, Nearly Headless Nick.

Notoriously Morbid : Fat Friar // The Grey Lady

Notoriously Morbid : Fat Friar // The Grey Lady

Fat Friar is a wee bit too green for me to use as an all over lid shade. Green-yellow eyeshadows are dangerous for me because sometimes it just makes my eyes look really red and tired. This color does look nice paired with Bloody Baron as a sort of spooky green look. I’m still playing around with these, so I’m sure I’ll find a nice way to use Friar.
Grey Lady is awesome though! Lots of purple and blue sparkles. I really want to try foiling this for liner.

Notoriously Morbid : Bloody Baron // Nearly Headless Nick

Notoriously Morbid : Bloody Baron // Nearly Headless Nick

These are the two shifty shadows. I would say they’re less duochrome and more like layers of color. These swatches are just over theBalm’s eye primer, but I best a sticky base would really bring out the metallic layer. I enjoy this layered color look; I think it makes for a very interesting shadow especially because the colors are so unlike. Bloody Baron is a dusty green with a metallic red layer, and Nick is red and gold. Very cool shades.


Overall I’m really happy I snagged this overstock box! I’ve been curious about their VC subscription since I heard about it, but I also am too picky about my colors to really leave it up to chance. Me & subscription boxes usually don’t mix. I love reading other people’s accounts of them but I always hate to take the plunge and end up with things I don’t use.

Anyways, I think these colors are super cool and if any of them show up in overstock or in a destash, I highly recommend them!

til later lovelies,
xoxo Swatchette

3 thoughts on “Notoriously Morbid Vanishing Cabinet October 2015 (Harry Potter Ghosts!) ~ Swatches & Review

gotta comment?

