Indie Spotlight! ~ Shiro Megapost ~ Eyes + Lips + Face ~ Picture Heavy Review!

It’s hump-day Wednesday, tomorrow is my birthday (!!!), and this week is going to be crazy at work. So of course I have a very long indie spotlight to hold you guys over until my next post 🙂 Today’s spotlight is Shiro Cosmetics and I have twenty-one products to show off today!

there is so much happiness in this pile

there is so much happiness in this pile

This is going to be picture heavy and swatchtastic.

SO MUCH SHIRO

SO MUCH SHIRO

This is actually a combination of two close-together hauls. One was to grab The Last Unicorn highlighter and a pluto inspired color (!!!) and the second was during a sample sale and I bought all the shadows I was interested in or recommended. Curse you /r/IndieMakeupAndMore for suggesting such lovely shades!
I also got a few lipgloss samples as well as a custom gloss! One of the greatest things about Shiro is you can get any lip-safe eyeshadow as a lipgloss or even have them match a specific color (like a Pantone color). I love customization and I love lip gloss so I knew I had to get one custom just to give it a whirl.

Shiro Cosmetics

Shiro Cosmetics: The Last Unicorn highlighter, The Largest Moon of Still Not a Planet eyeshadow, Justin Time lipgloss, Nic Cage Nibbling Petit Fours lipgloss, and custom lipgloss in Cognitive Recalibration

The Last Unicorn highlighter is a color of the month (COTM) but I’m pretty sure she said there’s enough stock to last well into October.
The Largest Moon of Still not a Planet is the cooler toned sister of the COTM Still Not A Planet. I love space stuff (as you guys well know) and I love cool toned shadows so this was a great purchase.
Cognitive Recalibration is my custom gloss. I’ve been loving purples with blue shimmers as lip colors so I knew I had to try it. It’s also inspired by Hawkeye who’s one of my fave comic characters (any Matt Fraction fans out there?) so that was the cherry on top. It’s seriously a gorgeous color.
Justin Time and Nic Cage Petit Fours were two gloss samples I also got, based on recommendations from IMAM. No regrets here! Love these colors!

And on to the many samples…

Shiro Cosmetics eyeshadows

Shiro Cosmetics eyeshadows

Once again you can see I’m enamoured with cool toned shimmers. I also succumbed to several shades because of their inspiration (I’m so weak to nerdy eyeshadows). I don’t think there’s a dud in the bunch! There’s some I love more than others (omg Alkahestry) but nothing I hated.

So what twenty-one things did I get?

  1. Shiro Alkahestry
  2. Shiro Who Needs Reasons?
  3. Shiro Apparatus
  4. Shiro The Wandering Wizard
  5. Shiro Cognitive Recalibration
  6. Shiro I Understood that Reference
  7. Shiro Something Sweet as Pain
  8. Shiro Glowstick of Destiny
  9. Shiro Surprise!
  10. Shiro He Loves His Hammer
  11. Shiro Hodor
  12. Shiro Genius Billionaire Playboy Philanthropist
  13. Shrio Farewell Wherever You Fare
  14. Shiro The Last Homely House
  15. Shiro NomNomNom
  16. Shiro Burdened with Glorious Purpose
  17. Shiro The Largest Moon of Still Not A Planet
  18. Shiro The Last Unicorn
  19. Shiro Cognitive Recalibration lipgloss
  20. Shiro Nic Cage Petit Fours
  21. Shiro Justin Time 

GUYS, IT’S JUST SO MANY GOOD THINGS!
Seriously, so many photos are next 🙂
All swatches are done with fingers (sorry, lazy!) over theBalm Put a Lid On It! primer.

IMG_3247-Edit

1. Shiro Alkahestry / 2. Shiro Who Needs Reasons? / 3. Shiro Apparatus / 4. Shiro The Wandering Wizard / 5. Shiro Cognitive Recalibration

IMG_3238-Edit

1. Shiro Alkahestry / 2. Shiro Who Needs Reasons? / 3. Shiro Apparatus / 4. Shiro The Wandering Wizard / 5. Shiro Cognitive Recalibration

Alkahestry is one of those “must-haves” from Shiro. It’s a gorgeous glittery shifty color. Purple and blue and silvery goodness. It only performs well over a primer and a stick primer is recommended. It also layers well over darker shades. I love this one!

Who Needs Reasons? and Cognitive Recalibration are duochrome shifts. Apparatus too, but Reasons? is much stronger. Wandering Wizard is a very cool toned, almost blueish, silver-grey.

IMG_3244-edit

3. Shiro Apparatus / 4. Shiro The Wandering Wizard / 5. Shiro Cognitive Recalibration / 6. Shiro I Understood that Reference / 7. Shiro Something Sweet as Pain / 8. Shiro Glowstick of Destiny / 9. Shiro Surprise! / 10. Shiro He Loves His Hammer

I had a tough time trying to capture the shift in I Understood that Reference. It has a matte cobalt base (which is lovely) and it’s packed with golden sheen and red glitter. When foiled for an eyeliner it’s almost solid golden sheen and red glitter and the bright cobalt all but disappears. It’s a very interesting color!

Shout-out to Shiro for including Surprise! as a freebie because I love it so much. It just glows from within like some spooky ghostly green (I have Halloween on the mind, haha).

IMG_3241-Edit

3. Shiro Apparatus / 4. Shiro The Wandering Wizard / 5. Shiro Cognitive Recalibration / 6. Shiro I Understood that Reference / 7. Shiro Something Sweet as Pain / 8. Shiro Glowstick of Destiny / 9. Shiro Surprise!

Sweet as Pain, Glowstick, and Surprise all have this super awesome glowing quality when the light hits it. Cognitive Recalibration also has a bright blue shift when the light hits. Gorgeous!

IMG_3243-Edit

5. Shiro Cognitive Recalibration / 6. Shiro I Understood that Reference / 7. Shiro Something Sweet as Pain / 8. Shiro Glowstick of Destiny / 9. Shiro Surprise! / 10. Shiro He Loves His Hammer / 11. Shiro Hodor

Hodor was one of those constantly recommended shades on IMAM. It’s an easy to wear neutral. This was more satin shimmery than I expected from descriptions. It’s a lovely lid or crease shade.

IMG_3245-Edit

6. Shiro I Understood that Reference / 7. Shiro Something Sweet as Pain / 8. Shiro Glowstick of Destiny / 9. Shiro Surprise! / 10. Shiro He Loves His Hammer / 11. Shiro Hodor / 12. Shiro Genius Billionaire Playboy Philanthropist / 13. Shiro Farewell Wherever You Fare

No surprise that I loved He Loves His Hammer. I love the purpley taupe shimmer colors and apparently can never have enough 🙂

IMG_3250-Edit

8. Shiro Glowstick of Destiny / 9. Shiro Surprise! / 10. Shiro He Loves His Hammer / 11. Shiro Hodor / 12. Shiro Genius Billionaire Playboy Philanthropist / 13. Shiro Farewell Wherever You Fare / 14. Shiro The Last Homely House

Genius Billionaire is basically orange gold on me. In this photo I’m really trying to show the green shifty shimmer in The Last Homely House. It really makes a wonderful twist to this neutral.

And this is the point where I ran out of arm space, haha. So here’s the second grouping of colors.

IMG_3255-Edit

15. Shiro NomNomNom / 16. Shiro Burdened with Glorious Purpose / 17. Shiro The Largest Moon of Still Not A Planet / 18. Shiro The Last Unicorn / 19. Shiro Cognitive Recalibration lipgloss / 20. Shiro Nic Cage Petit Fours / 21. Shiro Justin Time

The Last Unicorn!!!! It’s so silver blue and almost too glittery. Almost. 

IMG_3262

Shiro The Last Unicorn highlighter, swatch and blended out

It’s very cool toned, pale silver. It looks almost blueish in the jar. Not going to lie, I’m having a little trouble wearing this in a day look. I have to use a very light hand and a fluffy stippling brush to make sure I don’t pick up too much. You don’t need a lot of this to shine! I also like it as an eyeshadow too.

IMG_3256-Edit

15. Shiro NomNomNom / 16. Shiro Burdened with Glorious Purpose / 17. Shiro The Largest Moon of Still Not A Planet / 18. Shiro The Last Unicorn

I’m not sure how to describe The Largest Moon, but I love the color! It’s not too out-there, yet somehow is the coolest neutral-with-a-twist I now own. It’s kind of several colors all at once.

Oh, by the way, Nom Nom Nom totally stains. Since it’s lipsafe, this would be an awesome gloss, but dang it stained my arm and fingers. I would definitely use a thick primer if I was putting this on my eye.

IMG_3259-Edit

15. Shiro NomNomNom / 16. Shiro Burdened with Glorious Purpose / 17. Shiro The Largest Moon of Still Not A Planet / 18. Shiro The Last Unicorn

The Largest Moon is seriously glowy in the light. And see how silver Last Unicorn is?

IMG_3263

(from top to bottom) 19. Shiro Cognitive Recalibration lipgloss / 20. Shiro Nic Cage Petit Fours / 21. Shiro Justin Time

The glosses are very glossy. The light really hits them and they’re obviously gloss. These don’t dry down matte, which is good. They’re also slippery enough to apply but thick enough to stay on; an ideal consistency. I found these easy to wear and really opaque. Justin Time especially is opaque in one swipe.

Cognitive Recalibration is a custom-made in the “moderate” opacity with Pink frosting flavor. YUM.

(from top to bottom) 19. Shiro Cognitive Recalibration lipgloss / 20. Shiro Nic Cage Petit Fours / 21. Shiro Justin Time

(from top to bottom) 19. Shiro Cognitive Recalibration lipgloss / 20. Shiro Nic Cage Petit Fours / 21. Shiro Justin Time

See that blue shimmer in Cognitive Recalibration?! It’s an awesome color on the lips. I’m seriously getting addicted to purples-with-blue-shimmer as lip colors. It’s such a fun pop of shine in an autumn color.
Nic Cage Petit Fours also gets a shout-out as an easy to wear MLBB. It’s like a darkish neutral pink and can be worn more sheered out for an easy autumn pink.


If you’re still reading, you’re amazing.

That was a very long post! I hope it was helpful 🙂 Shiro will be coming out with a Harry Potter collection tomorrow October 1st (!!!!!) and maybe this post will convince you to pick up a few things to sample from the brand.

My personal favorites were Alkahestry, Surprise, Glowstick of Destiny, Who Needs Reasons?, Largest Moon of Still Not a Planet, and Justin Time.

til later lovelies,
xoxo Swatchelette

4 thoughts on “Indie Spotlight! ~ Shiro Megapost ~ Eyes + Lips + Face ~ Picture Heavy Review!

  1. GymBagMakeup says:

    Woo hoo for swatchtastic posts!
    I had to Google Matt Fraction but it totally made me miss comic books. It’s been a lot of years since I got to read comics and even then they were mostly vintage from the 50’s. I should rectify that whole situation! ANYWAY, Cognitive Recalibration may even be prettier as a gloss than as a shadow! Good call!
    I succumbed to the sample sale as well. Can we just take a moment to bask in the perfection that is Alkahestry‽ it’s so pretty!
    I waffled on getting Apparatus and Surprise! And now I’m a little sad that I decided against them. They’re really lovely!
    The Last Homely House and Glowstick of Destiny are some of my favorites. Such good duochromes!
    I’m going to try I Understood That Reference as a liner. I love it but man is it difficult to work with as a shadow.
    I FORGOT ABOUT THE HP COLLECTION!! Must leave to Google now.

    Great post!! 🙂

    Like

    • swatchlette says:

      Every store should do sample sales; it’s the easiest way for me to find so many “omg I need a full size” colors! The HP collection looks awesome and I’m a total sucker for the names and inspirations. I grabbed samples of literally everything. Caitlin’s swatches usually don’t show off the true beauty of her shadows but I bet they’ll be gorgeous in person!

      Liked by 1 person

      • GymBagMakeup says:

        I’m so glad you got sample from the collection, hopefully you write about them 🙂 I agree, I think that Caitlin’s swatches never really prepare you for the awesomeness in each shade. I ordered a few shades based on IMAM recommendations that look completely boring on the website but they’re magical in real life. Although…getting photos that are color accurate is hard! So I totally get it!

        Like

gotta comment?

