Lipstick Queen ~ Chinatown Three to Thrill and Hello Sailor Disappointment

Happy Saturday! Despite being overjoyed for the weekend, today I have a somewhat sad post. There’s nothing sadder to me than finding a disappointment in a brand I love. Today I have Lipstick Queen’s Three to Thrill Trio and the Hello Sailor lipstick, both which turned out to products I had to return…

IMG_2747

Lipstick Queen – Three to Thrill Chinatown Trio and Hello Sailor Lipstick

Lipstick Queen is a brand I usually love; I adore their Frog Prince and both their Saint and Sinner lines of lipsticks. Thus I was excited to try the Three to Thrill and the Hello Sailor when Ulta was having a promo where I bought both for only $29. Of course, this lucky sale turned out to be a disappointment.

Three to Thrill looked pretty at least.

Lipstick Queen - Three to Thrill China Town Trio

Lipstick Queen – Three to Thrill Chinatown Trio; from Left to Right – Cantina // Chase // Pink Bluff

In the tubes they looked like pretty different colors. But when swatched Cantina and Pink Bluff were barely different, and on the lips all of them sort of stayed a glossy MLBB color. Only Chase provided any added rosy color to my lips.

IMG_2754

Lipstick Queen – Three to Thrill Chinatown Trio – Chase // Cantina // Pink Bluff

I wanted to love this, I did! The formula is nice and smooth, easy to apply, and these were moisturizing on my lips. They’re just way too sheer for my liking, especially since two of the colors were basically indistinguishable.

Hello Sailor was the one I really had high hopes for.

Lipstick Queen -  Hello Sailor Lipstick

Lipstick Queen – Hello Sailor Lipstick

Since I adored Frog Prince and how pretty of a pink it turned on me, I went ahead and assumed that Hello Sailor would be a pretty changing color as well. When I swatched it on my hand in store, it was this lilac-pink color that I really loved. Too bad it absolutely did not look like that on my lips! It basically stayed a blue-tinged light color on my lips and never went into the lilac color it did on my hand. It made me look like I was freezing and that my lips were turning blue! Not a flattering look on me. Granted, not everyone may have this experience since it’s supposed to change differently on everyone, but it was a big No for me.

Lipstick Queen - Three to Thrill China Town Trio and Hello Sailor Lipstick

Lipstick Queen – Three to Thrill Chinatown Trio (Chase // Cantina // Pink Bluff) and Hello Sailor Lipstick

In the swatch above you can see how Cantina and Pink Bluff are basically the same. For that price having two pencils that are the same color wasn’t worth it to me. And look how pretty Hello Sailor seems! I wish it looked like that on my lips!


All in all, I ended up returning both of the products. Despite feeling nice on my lips, nothing looked good at all. So sad!

Have you had a disappointing product lately? Anything that just failed your expectations?

til later lovelies,
xoxo Swatchlette

gotta comment?

