ColourPop Throws it Back 90s Fall Collection ~ Shadows and Lippies ~ Review and Swatches

Happy Wednesday everyone! Yet another week is halfway over πŸ™‚

Today I have for you a few of the new shades from ColourPop’s new fall collection! I only bought Mixed Tape, Boy Band, Contempo, and Dazed because I’mΒ supposed to be on a low-buy. But of course I threw a few more ColourPop goodies into my order to meet that shipping requirement πŸ˜‰

ColourPop 90s fall collection

ColourPop 90s fall collection

All in all, I bought Mixed Tape and Boy Band from the fall collection shadows as well as Coconut and Chipper because apparently I’m super into blues and greens right now. I also got Contempo and Dazed lippie stix and Grind lippie pencil. A very good haul if I say so myself.

Today I’ll just be showing you the fall collection since I plan on swatching my entire ColourPop collection side by side for you guys soon πŸ™‚

ColourPop Mixed Tape eye shadow

ColourPop Mixed Tape eye shadow

Mixed Tape is this awesome satin pewter. ColourPop calls it a ‘mid tone cool grey’ but the satin finish makes it a cool tone pewter. On my ~NC15 skin itΒ is definitely mid tone and makes a nice lid shade or crease shade. This one is 95% opaque in one swipe.

ColourPop Boy Band eye shadow

ColourPop Boy Band eye shadow

ColourPop calls Boy Band an ‘intense red copper’ in their Ultra Metallic finish. I love their Ultra Metallics and I love this one too. I would call this more red-bronze than red copper, especially when compared to other ColourPop colors in this color family. This one is opaque in one swipe and ultra pigmented. Also soft, smooth, and easy to blend!

ColourPop eye shadows -- (from L to R) -- Game Face / La La / Boy Band / Mixed Tape / So Quiche

ColourPop eye shadows — (from L to R) — Game Face / La La / Boy Band / Mixed Tape / So Quiche

As you can see in the swatches, Boy Band definitely looks more brown-bronze when compared to the rose gold La La or the more orange gold of Game Face. These three combined together would be fun for fall. Mixed Tape is a bit lighter in person than this swatch, but it does have this almost cool lilac satin sheen to it. It’s nothing like the warmer sheen of So Quiche.

Now onto lippies! I bought Contempo, Dazed, and the Grind pencil.

(from L to R) ColourPop Contempo / ColourPop Dazed / Urban Decay Bittersweet / ColourPop Lychee Ultra Matte / ColourPop Grind pencil

(from L to R) ColourPop Contempo / ColourPop Dazed / Urban Decay Bittersweet / ColourPop Lychee Ultra Matte / ColourPop Grind pencil

I specifically bought Grind to go with Lychee and Urban Decay’s Bittersweet. And that was aΒ great choice! The pencil works great with either lipstick.

Dazed, according to the great Temptalia, is supposed to be a dupe for MAC D for Danger / Heaux which I have been lusting after, but Dazed is a mere fraction of the cost. I loooove this color; its that raspberry red that I’ve been wishing for. It stays cool and berryΒ toned and doesn’t turnΒ red-red on me. YAY! Success.

Contempo is… almost HG status. This is crazy, seriously. I’m not even a fan of the ColourPop lippie stix (as I’ll address in the masterpost) but oh my gosh. Either the formula is better on this set or the colors I previously bought were just not right for me. But this one! Is! PERFECT! It isΒ literally the exact same shade of my lips. So when I wear it it 1) doesn’t look like I’m wearing lipstick but 2) makes my lips look perfect. It’s truly the perfect lipstick for dramatic eye looks since it doesn’t look like I’m wearing anything. It just makes my lips one uniform, flattering color. The only tiny downside is over the day of wearing it, it does settle into lip lines, but that’s just a tiny thing. I’m halfway considering buying a backup since these are limited edition, but at the same time I know I very hardly use up a lipstick….

It’s actually a very tough choice for me. According the the great Temptalia’s swatch search function, Contempo looks similar to Urban Decay Backtalk and Kat Von D’s Magick, both of which are on my wishlist/to-buy list. Yes, I know all three of these are almost the same color, but they’re such different formulas… I love the Urban Decay Matte Revolutions to death, they’re my favorite formula right up there with Too Faced La Creme and Butter London mattes. And I don’t own a single KVD Studded Kiss and I wanted my first one to be something wearable so I’d love it and wear it all the time, aka a MLBB like Magick. That one also has some glitter, so it’d look different enough…

Oops, I’ve basically found myself in a rabbit hole of neutral pink lipsticks and I want them ALL πŸ™‚

Here’s a quick comparison…

Top: ColourPop Contempo lippie / Bottom: ColourPop Brink lippie

Top: ColourPop Contempo lippie / Bottom: ColourPop Brink lippie

I love Contempo and I hate Brink, and I think this swatch helps me really understand why. Brink really pulls orange-y and brown on me, whereas Contempo stays a cool toned pink. Yay for Contempo ❀

Anyhow… I love this fall collection! I wish I had the funds (and space!) to buy everything but I honestly think I got the best ones πŸ™‚ My second picks are maybe Stereo and Party Time shadows, and Poison lippie, but that isn’t enough to warrant another haul.

TL;DR – ColourPop wins it all again with an awesome 90s collection πŸ™‚

til later lovelies,
xoxo Swatchlette

2 thoughts on “ColourPop Throws it Back 90s Fall Collection ~ Shadows and Lippies ~ Review and Swatches

gotta comment?

