Mini Sephora Haul~ Kat Von D Bachelorette, Eyelashes, Hourglass VIB Promo Gift

Happy Monday! I cannot believe it’s almost September!!! It’s kind of scary how fast 2015 is flying by. But September means it’s almost October which means it’s almost time for my favorite holiday πŸ™‚

Today I have a little mini haul from Sephora! I saw that they were doing a VIB/Rouge promo where you get a little sampler of Hourglass minis with purchase so I kind of impulse bought some things so I could get the promo πŸ™‚ #noregrets

IMG_2815

sephora haul + hourglass gift

So I bought Kat Von D Everlasting Liquid Lipstick in the color Bachelorette, the Sephora brand false eyelashes in Irresistible, and a bunch of their hair ties in black and brown (not pictured). My cat tends to somehow seek and destroy my hair ties so I always buy a few whenever I can, haha.

IMG_2816

Sephora false eyelashes ~ Irresistible Lash

So I don’t really wear fake eyelashes except for very special occasions or for doing a period look (example, a friend had a 1950s party last year and I got some fun lashes that amplified the cat eye look I was doing). These I kind of impulse bought because 1) They were on sale and 2) I had just seen the film The Man from U.N.C.L.E. and I was seriously digging that 60s glamour. I wanted some crazy long and round eyelashes so I could try to recreate that big-eyed Twiggy kind of makeup πŸ™‚

IMG_2822

Kat Von D Everlasting Liquid Lipstick in Bachelorette

This was the next color on my “to-try” list. Sephora describes it as a ‘reddish fuchsia’ and trusty Temptalia called it a ‘medium dark pinky red’ which is what I was looking for. A matte pink red; something clearly not the usual neutral or cool reds I own so many of.

IMG_2823

Kat Von D Everlasting Liquid Lipstick in Bachelorette

I really wish this was pinker on me! It reads as a bright warm red, but any traces of ‘fuchsia’ are not even there. *sadface*
I love the formula though, as I knew I would. And I can justify keeping this and not returning because I don’t own a liquid lipstick this color yet πŸ™‚

Swatches & comparisons of this color will be at the bottom of this post.

The Hourglass promo was totally worth it though. I love their primer and I try to get free samples when I can becauseΒ dang it’s expensive for a primer. The minis also included a mascara and a lipstick in the color Icon.

IMG_2817

Hourglass mini mascara, lipstick, and primer

Tiny little things! They’re kind of cute though, albeit very small.

IMG_2820

itty bitty Hourglass lipstick in Icon

Look how cute the little lipstick is! Awwww, adorable. There’s not very much, maybe a little less than half an inch of actual lipstick. It’s stillΒ enough for quite a few applications though. I think it’s a boring color; I have way too many reds that are similar, and I found that this one wasn’t opaque in one swipe, which is my preference.

Swatch time!

IMG_2827-Edit

1. Stila Fiery / 2. MAC Opera / 3. MAC Victoriana / 4. Kat Von D Bachelorette / 5. Hourglass Icon

I swatched a few reds that I thought were sort of similar to Bachelorette as well.

  1. Stila Stay All Day Liquid Lipstick in Fiery
  2. MAC Opera (LE)
  3. MAC Victoriana (LE)
  4. Kat Von D Everlasting Liquid Lipstick in Bachelorette
  5. Hourglass Femme Rouge Velvet Creme Lipstick in Icon

When I first swatched Bachelorette it was nighttime and I was disappointed how absolutely similar to Victoriana it looked on my lips. It seemed like a liquid version of the same color. In the daylight, there are more noticeable differences with Bachelorette being obviously opaque in one swipe and Victoriana is buildable. They’re very similar pinky-reds though. But neither are nearly fuchsia enough for me. Ironically the Kat Von D is a better formula in my opinion, as the MAC seems drying on my lips especially after a few hours.

I’m going to keep Bachelorette because I do love the formula and the color is unique at least to my liquid lipstick collection. I’m still on the search for a fuchsia red though, one that doesn’t pull cool-toned and turn purplish.

Thanks for reading πŸ™‚

til later lovelies,
xoxo Swatchlette

gotta comment?

