Many Monday Swatches! ~ NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream Lipsticks & Butter Glosses

Happy Monday everyone! In anticipation of the new NYX Liquid Suede Lipsticks online (mine which should be arriving in the mail sometime this week!!! 😀 ) I decided to go back and swatch ALL the NYX lipsticks that I currently own! The Soft Matte Lip Creams are pretty famous now with nearly everyone owning at least one, but I figured swatching my collection would be useful for you and me too 😉 It’s always good to remember what I already own!

IMG_2618

NYX soft matte lip creams and butter glosses

I own seven of the Soft Matte Lip Creams and two Butter Glosses. I honestly don’t want any more, despite there being many more colors available. I’ve basically collected all the colors that really jumped out at me and the rest I think wouldn’t look that good on my face. Good for my wallet to stop here, haha 🙂

I like the formulas of these. Although I tend to forget I have these in favor of reaching for a regular lipstick, these do feel nice when on. I tend to find these are more on the muted side and not 100% opaque. They do build up nicely, which is good news for the slightly sheer shades. They are very soft, true to their name, and have a natural finish when applied. They are really nice in terms of not drying your lips and feeling lightweight. I tend to forget I’m wearing it when I have it on, it’s so light! They’re dirt cheap too, and you can often find them on sale at Ulta or in your local drugstore. I think they’re really great for people who hate super drying liquid lipsticks or who want to try some fun colors at a low price. People looking for uber pigmented, super transfer-proof lipsticks need to look elsewhere.

Now for the swatches!

IMG_2621-Edit

NYX soft matte lip creams in Bright Light

IMG_2630-Edit

NYX soft matte lip creams in Dim Light

  1. Butter Gloss in Maple Blondie
  2. Butter Gloss in Tiramisu
  3. NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream in Copenhagen
  4. NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream in Monte Carlo
  5. NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream in Sao Paulo
  6. NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream in Ibiza
  7. NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream in Antwerp
  8. NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream in Cannes
  9. NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream in Milan

I find that Monte Carlo is on the sheerer side, which can be nice for someone not wanting an In-Your-Face-Red.

Copenhagen is a bit streaky and definitely needs a second layer. It’s a surprisingly wearable burgundy/purple.

Sao Paulo is one of my favorites in terms of formula; its applies really evenly and opaque. Cannes is also one of my ultimate favorites. Cannes is a peachier version of a MLBB for me and I really like it as a “nude” lip.

Ibiza and Antwerp are very similar. Ibiza is more coral and brighter, Antwerp is a hair darker and rosier.

The Butter Glosses look distinguishable in the swatches, but honestly, they all look pretty much the same on my lips. Tiramisu is maybe more “nude” looking than Maple Blondie, but they are both relatively sheer. But they feel great! Very hydrating feeling, although they don’t last very long.

All the NYX lipsticks and glosses don’t last that long on me. They do need reapplication, with the glosses needing it after an hour or two, and the Soft Matte Lip Creams needing it after 3 hours. Monte Carlo and Copenhagen stain a bit on the lips but the others don’t really stain.

If I had to pick just ONE I think I would say Sao Paulo, with Cannes and Monte Carlo as runners-up 🙂

I’m really excited to get my hands on the Liquid Suedes… I’ve heard great things thus far!

til later lovelies,
xoxo Swatchlette

One thought on “Many Monday Swatches! ~ NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream Lipsticks & Butter Glosses

gotta comment?

