(even more) ColourPop Ultra Matte Lipstick Swatches! ~ indepth review

Oops I bought more.

IMG_2578-Edit

When I saw the new colors that were released a couple weeks ago, I knew I had to have Clueless. It looked like the perfect muted rosy color that would actually be The MLBB color I want/need.
And of course I had to pick up Lychee because PURPLE and Bumble because it’s a perfect dupe for Kat Von D’s Double Dare which I was lusting after. So I placed another ColourPop order (got some shadows too- more on that later) and got these three new lipsticks πŸ™‚

IMG_2571

Lychee // Bumble // Clueless — light from windows

I am LOVING Clueless. Part of why I bought it was because IΒ loveΒ the movie (and the quote they used to describe it on the website: “Never look like a full-on Monet in this dusty mauve pink.”) ColourPop really knows how to get my attention. It’s a really great color on me too! It looks like a dusty greyer version of my natural lips.

IMG_2567-Edit

There’s something almost ‘stone’ about it; like it dries down as a sort of muted greyed-out rose mauve. I like it a lot! It’s a perfect neutral lip. I will say though, this one really emphasizes lip lines. I think the paler colors all will do this.

IMG_2582-Edit

Bumble was a surprise winner for me! I liked the KVD Double Dare that I swatched in store and I wanted to save a few bucks and buy the dupe… but now I kind of want both? This is such a great color and I just want more of it! It’s an almost brick-y rose. ColourPop calls it terracotta, and I can definitely see that. It’s not as orange as I feared and I love it. Applies & dries wonderfully.

IMG_2587-Edit

Oh Lychee…. this is like an ultra matte, darker version of Urban Decay’s Bittersweet. It’s a pinky purple. This one I had some formula issues. It doesn’t want to be opaque in one coat. The above photo is just one coat and there’s definitely some translucency. It’s doesn’t like to layer that well either. Also, you absolutely cannot have your lips touch each other while drying. This one really doesn’t like to stay smooth unless you’re careful.

IMG_2590-Edit

This is 2-3 thin coats. The opacity definitely improved, but you can still see how it’s a little uneven in the layers. Such a gorgeous color though! I don’t mind the formula issues.

Overall, the Ultra Mattes are very thin liquids that apply easily. You just have to be fast and careful about applying thin layers and keeping them smooth. The lightest colors seem to show more lip lines, but for $6 I am more than happy.

Here’s a line up of swatches including Sundae which I have reviewed earlier. I also threw in Kat Von D’s Lolita next to Clueless so you can see the comparison.

IMG_2577

Sundae // Lychee // Bumble // Clueless // Lolita

I have to admit, I like the Ultra Mattes more than when I began…. πŸ™‚ I think Bumble and Clueless really won me over.

Have you scored some Ultra Mattes yet? Which one is your favorite? Feel free to comment below πŸ™‚

til later lovelies,
xoxo Swatchlette

3 thoughts on “(even more) ColourPop Ultra Matte Lipstick Swatches! ~ indepth review

gotta comment?

