Sephora Surprises! – secretly wonderful Sephora brand products

Happy Saturday everyone! I hope you all are having awesome weekends πŸ™‚

I’ve been trying various Sephora brand products lately and have been surprisingly impressed! There’s definitely a lot of hidden gems that no one really talks about… so I thought I would πŸ™‚ Here’s a collection of some of my Sephora favorites!

IMG_2552

Let’s start with the lipsticks, because duh πŸ™‚

IMG_2553

I have three shades of the Color Lip Last lipsticks. From left to right is #20 Wanted Red (classic neutral red), #23 Elegant in Brown (burgundy), and #18 All You Need is Red (bright clean red). I love these! They apply like regular lipstick; very creamy and easily. And when they dry down (aka don’t let you lips touch for a minute or two) then they are matte and VERY long lasting! I don’t know what magic is in them, but they really do last all day until you take them off. Obviously like most long-last lipsticks, any oil products will take them off, so be careful of salad dressing for example. I find that these wear a good solid six hours until there’s any fading happening, especially towards the inner lip. I do find these drying though; they don’t layer well with balm so any prep is basically ‘wear lots of hydrating balm before and after’. There’s a massive color range too, which is awesome πŸ™‚

IMG_2555

Next is Sephora’s Ultra Shine Lip Gloss. This one, #9 Shimmery Love Me Pink is on clearance for $7 !!! There’s a BUNCH on clearance and I highly suggest grabbing some. Love Me Pink is a bright pink with an awesome blue shimmer in it. It isn’t a gritty glitter nor does it leave a glitter residue on your lips. These aren’t the most pigmented but they are such fun colors that for $7 you can’t really go wrong. ItΒ lasts about 2-3 hours before needing a touch up and I don’t find it sticky at all.

IMG_2559

This ‘gel serum’ concealer is my JAM. Dare I say, it’s my HG undereye concealer? The Sephora Bright Future Gel Serum Concealer is specifically marketed for brightening and concealing the undereye area and I definitely think it does an amazing job. This is the lightest color, Bavarian Cream, and it’s great for me. I’m sure there are some people even paler than me who might be wishing there was a lighter color, but this one is just right for my skin. It’s very lightweight and not super duper pigmented, which is 100% what I want. From many many years of trial and error with pretty much every concealer out there (from Hard Candy to Lorac to It Cosmetics to Nars and etc.)Β I’ve learned that the super pigmented ones are usually the ones that crease on me. As much as I would love a concealer that works wonders on my tired eyes, the more pigment always equals instant crease on me. This Sephora concealer is super creamy, blendable, and I find it really easy to apply and layer. I also sweep it across the tops of my cheeks, cupid’s bow, and other areas I want to highlight. For me, it’s reminiscent of the YSL Eclat pen or my old Pixi Wakeup Concealer pen.
Long story short: it’s super easy to use and it never creases on me!

s1597384-main-hero-300

The Sephora Double Take BB & CC Cream Sponge is this weird little wonderful thing. I’m still going through a lot of trial and error to figure out how best to apply my foundation, and which foundations like which methods, but these little sponges are surprisingly nice! I love that they’re durable enough to wash and reuse, so I’m not just throwing away sponges. I don’t like my Beauty Blender (am I the only one?) so I’m still on the lookout for a sponge that I like. I mostly use these as a last step to blend the foundation into my skin and they really do leave a nice smooth finish. (In other news, IΒ still can’t get my Nars Sheer Glow foundation to last more than 2 hours on my skin. No matter the primer or finishing powder combo, this stuff starts separating on my skin around the 1.5 – 2 hour mark πŸ˜› )

IMG_2556

Last but not least, EYELINERS! Two of the brand new Colorful Wink-It Felt LinersΒ in Baby Blues and Blue Moon, as well as the Contour Eye Pencil 12-hr WearΒ in Diamonds are Forever. I picked up Diamonds just before it went on clearance and disappeared. But I’m sure it’s still floating around in some Sephora stores. I love this glimmery silver color, almost pewter, and it really does last and last. I don’t find it smugeable at all.
The new Felt Liners are fabulous! I love the colors offered and desperately wish they make more colors. I need like six more shades of different purples and greens please! They’re a thinner consistency than Kat Von D or Stila’s, but they layer up well and create relatively opaque lines after a couple swipes. Easy to use, and fun bright colors!

This was a long post… but I hope it was informative! There are tons of hidden gems within Sephora’s own collection, and I hope you find some too πŸ™‚

til later lovelies,
xoxo Swatchette

One thought on “Sephora Surprises! – secretly wonderful Sephora brand products

gotta comment?

