Red lipstick heartbreak – aka, Estee Lauder’s gorgeous lipstick and why I returned it


Happy Sunday everyone! Time for a long story… I’ve been craving one of the Estee Lauder Pure Color Envy Sculpting lipsticks since I first saw them on Temptalia. Half the colors have been in my wish list for ages and after my blegh week last week I picked one up on a whim, aiming for a safe choice. I bought Vengeful Red, described on Sephora as a “bright red berry”. Which sounds amazing, right? IMG_2355 The packaging is gorgeous. Its heavy weight and looks luxurious, with navy outside and gold accents. IMG_2356 It definitely feels like it is worth the $30. I feel super classy, like a real lady (lol) when I apply it. There’s something about the weight of this lipstick in my hand that makes me feel like A Classy Adult Woman™. IMG_2358 I’m in love. Can you tell? I am a sucker for classy packaging and nice heavy lipstick bullets and this lipstick really excels. And it’s a red lipstick; how could I possibly not love it?

IMG_2373

(ignore the hair; it’s in a quick ponytail b/c it was too frizzy for a nice photo lol)

So why did I return it? Because I have too many red lipsticks. This is honestly a hard thing to admit, that I may be reaching a limit; and I know for sure I’ll be buying more (I see you Dita Von Teese collection for MAC!). But Vengeful Red wasn’t the “red berry” I was hoping for. I guess I was wishing for something a bit more unusual, something more pinky than what reads as a classic red on me. Aka I wanted something I didn’t already own. Here’s some swatches so you can see for yourself:

vengeful-red-swatch-outdoor

bright outdoor light

vengeful-red-swatch-indoor

indoor light (through windows)

  1. MAC Opera 2. Lord & Berry 20100 Crayon Lipstick in Scarlett 3. Buxom Provocateur 4. MUFE Rouge Artist Intense #43 (Moulin Rouge) 5. Estee Lauder Vengeful Red 6. Clinique Passion Pop 7. Ulta Lipstick #203 Chili 8. MAC Russian Red

In the swatches (of just a portion of my reds) you can see that the Estee Lauder is just a smidgen bluer than the MUFE #43. And the formula is heavenly. It’s very creamy and easy to apply, glossy like a cream lipstick should look, and it didn’t stick to dry patches. It obviously isn’t transfer proof, like most cream lipsticks, but it did last a nice long while without smudging (be careful of messy foods, haha) and left a stain by the end of the day. I love it, but… the color just doesn’t *spark* me. There isn’t anything special that makes me want to reach for it again and again. I rarely reach for my MUFE #43 and having another color that’s almost identical just seems like a waste of a beautiful formula. So… I returned it. With a small tear in my eye (haha). I really love the formula though. I really really wish these were in-store somewhere near me so I can look at all the colors because I really want one! Maybe something less red and more ‘everyday’, so that way I can reach for it again and again. *Sigh*… well that’s my heartbreak story about a lipstick I loved but just couldn’t keep. Do you have any makeup heartbreak stories? (Do you have any color suggestions for an Estee Lauder lipstick I should try??) Leave a comment below 🙂 til later lovelies, xoxo Swatchlette

16 thoughts on “Red lipstick heartbreak – aka, Estee Lauder’s gorgeous lipstick and why I returned it

    • swatchlette says:

      hahahah I’m totally not against more reds, I just feel like I need to find more fun ones? Like maybe a fiery orange red, or a true darker red that doesn’t look purple… lol I do love my reds ahah xoxoxxo

      Liked by 1 person

      • Cat Forsley says:

        ❤ ❤ ❤ it's so nice to see your face !!!!!!!!!!!!! you know what would look killer on u is The still stay all day in "Fiery " that's a diff kinda red and melted metallic debutante – Too Faced – like a really lush bright peachy colour – 🙂 x

        Liked by 1 person

      • swatchlette says:

        I totally forgot I have Stila’s Fiery already! I should definitely use that more!!! oooh I definitely will check out the Melted Debutante. I don’t have any of the Metallic Melteds yet but I have heard such good things! ahh thank you xoxoxoxxo

        Liked by 1 person

      • Cat Forsley says:

        YOU HAVE FIERY of course you do xoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxo I have debutante and i love it – i have fair skin – as well – it’s a nice warm shade and i am trying to think of more – how about pinks ??????????? WHY NO PINKS haha xo

        Liked by 1 person

      • swatchlette says:

        hahahaha I oddly enough have so few pinks?? I think the closest I have is a bunch of hot pink/fuchsias like Stila’s Bella, Colourpop Sundae, etc. I have Clinique Sweet Pop but that’s like a sheer-ish soft pink haha xoxox

        Liked by 1 person

      • Cat Forsley says:

        yeah i am checking your posts ………….you have a mega bible here and just reading about colour pop the mattes ……………. Thanks for the inspiration ………. we don’t have them in canada – i am gonna look online at them Now …… xo MUAH XO

        Liked by 1 person

      • Cat Forsley says:

        EXACTLY hi = i just went on their site and fell in love – THEY ARE VEGAN ? wowwowow and so inexpensive ………. Thanks xxx HA XOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXO their highlighters are so pretty too xxxxx Thanks Love – I THINK – lol xo

        Liked by 1 person

      • Cat Forsley says:

        i am a GIANT hoarder lol xxxx i love to try everything xxx u know i think really looking at their site – that soon they will be at sephora – because they have such huge advantages – like being vegan and being to create those kind of finishes …………thats really rare xo

        Liked by 1 person

  1. indiequeen84 says:

    I didn’t buy too many red lipsticks when I was in the States for this exact same reason: I already own so many. If you like the lipstick overall (formula etc) and are looking for a natural nude shade, I can recommend Impulsive. It is one of my favorite lipsticks of all time and the color is great on pale skin.

    Liked by 1 person

gotta comment?

