May Favorites! (+ bonus lipstick comparisons!)

Hello all! It has been SUPER busy for me lately, so forgive the lack of posting πŸ™‚ We could consider today a special double post, since in the process of making my May Favorites list, I did a mini lipstick swatch comparison! My May Faves actually contain a fun amount of new + really old items. Without further ado here we go!

11391413_10153419004173156_1158293325216151588_n

may faves!

It was actually a little difficult to do a round-up, since I tend to use very different products every day since I’m constantly changing styles, haha. Super natural one day and super colorful the next, just depending on mood! But these have been some new May acquisitions that I *love* and want to share!

11059998_10153419004018156_6414245256915231302_n

base

So I’ve been challenging myself to use up old products lately, including this Maybelline Fit Me Foundation stick (shade 120) which is SO OLD I don’t even want to tell you how long I’ve had it! I’m always searching for an HG foundation so I have a lot of half empty ones sitting around. I’m actually close to being done with this stick though and I’m so proud! The Miracle Skin (shade medium) is a new purchase that I actually got much cheaper from Costco. It isn’t a foundation, at least not to me. It doesn’t cover much but it acts as a lovely soft & matte primer. It pairs really well with the stick for a very nice matte base! This pairing works super well, especially for these hotter and sunnier months.

I also have been trying use my hoard of skincare and makeup samples I have sitting around. Some I don’t bother opening because I know it’s a shade way too dark or the skincare is heavily perfumed (awful for my poor sensitive skin) and those get passed along to friends. But! Sometimes you find gold! I’ve been loving this sample packet of Tarina Tarantino Eye Dream Hyperlight. When I first squeezed it out I was so worried because it is quite peach on me and not my skintone at all. Yet it is so good at masking my sleep-deprived tired eyes and cancelling out the blue/purple tones of undereyes! It isn’t as “crease-free” as it claims (but granted, literally everything creases on me) but it is lovely set with the BΓ©same brightening powder in Vanilla. I’ve been doing a lot more photography/film stuff for my job lately and I have to be so careful about powder and flash photography! This powder does not leave a white cast like some brightening powders, so this is my go-to on photo days.

11011965_10153419004228156_8023059317352193486_n

eyes!

I think I own almost every shade of the UD 24/7 Liquid Liners now and I have ZERO regrets. They are all gorgeous and pigmented and super long-lasting on me. My go-to for an easy spring look has been just a cat-eye flick of Siren, a gorgeous teal color! Sometimes I don’t even do eyeshadow (gasp!) and just do this fun liner. My new fave mascara is this sample size of Diorshow that I got from Sephora. I’m actually upset that I like it so much! I have SO many travel sized mascaras to use up and I didn’t really need this one…. but I love it so. It is very natural and totally clump free on me, no matter how many times I layer it up! It’s so natural it really makes my eyelashes look AMAZING without looking like makeup! I’m *almost* considering buying a full size but so many travel sized mascaras are better than their full size counterparts that I’m very wary of taking that plunge.

11143236_10153419004078156_6539878358464144837_n

lips!

Springtime means COLORS! I’ve been loving the soft matte look of my Sonia Kashuk lip pencils (I have several colors) but the new Raspberry Nude is such an amazing pop of fuchsia on me! Perfect for florals and sunny weather. And a lipstick I got just last week, on amazing clearance from Target, is the L’OrΓ©al Infallible Le Rouge in Tender Berry. Holy schmoly. This may be the best clearance item I’ve ever scored. Soft, luminous matte color, and an absolutely gorgeous soft natural pink on me.

Now those who have been reading for a while know I have a lipstick problem…. meaning I have WAY too many similar ‘natural pinks’ or red colors. What can I say? Lipstick is my vice of choice πŸ˜‰ But here’s a quickie comparison of Tender Berry to some similar colors I have….

11393208_10153419003963156_2157461172285668091_n

in the middle is Tender Berry….

So, the middle swatch is Tender Berry.
To the Left is Urban Decay Fiend
Right is Clinique Colour + Primer in Plum Pop
On the Bottom is Edward Bess Night Romance
And on top is MAC Craving

They’re all the same general family of plum pinks, but I would say the Clinique is the closest, especially in terms of formula. And UD’s Fiend is just a tiny hair browner and has a thicker formula. They’re all very similar though!

So there’s that! A very distilledΒ list of May Favorites, old and new πŸ™‚

Who else is excited for warmer summer months? It always gives me an excuse to rock some bright colors.

til later lovelies,
xoxo Swatchlette

gotta comment?

